Film News

Daniel Radcliffe is making a film about his paralysed ‘Harry Potter’ stunt double

Posted On
Posted By admin

Actor Daniel Radcliffe is making a film about one of his stunt doubles on Harry Potter who was paralysed following an accident on one of the film’s sets.

As per Deadline, Sky and HBO Documentary Films are working on David Holmes: The Boy Who Lived which was described by Sky as “a coming-of-age story of stuntman David Holmes, a prodigious teenage gymnast from Essex, England, who is selected to play Daniel Radcliffe’s stunt double in the first Harry Potter film, when Daniel is just eleven.”

Radcliffe starred as the titular character in all eight films in the world-famous series based on J.K. Rowling’s books, which concluded in 2011 while Holmes was his stunt double until an accident on the penultimate film left him paralysed.

The synopsis adds: “Over the next ten years, the two form an inextricable bond, but on the penultimate film a tragic accident on set leaves David paralysed with a debilitating spinal injury, turning his world upside down. As Daniel and his closest stunt colleagues rally to support David and his family in their moment of need, it is David’s extraordinary spirit of resilience that becomes their greatest source of strength and inspiration.”

The film, which will be executive produced by Radcliffe, will also feature “candid personal footage shot over the last decade, behind-the-scenes material from Holmes’ stunt work, scenes of his current life and intimate interviews with David, Daniel Radcliffe, friends, family, and former crew.”

Documentary makers say it will also “reflect universal themes of living with adversity, growing up, forging identities in an uncertain world, and the bonds that bind us together and lift us up.”

The film will arrive on Sky Documentaries on November 18.

In other news, an upcoming television reboot of the fantasy franchise was confirmed by HBO earlier this year, and will be the first-ever series based on the iconic books.

As reported by Bloomberg, each season of the series is set to be based on one of Rowling’s seven main entries in the Harry Potter series.

Related Post